AOTW Week 8

Marina Abramovic

Here is a piece down by Marina Abramovic (courtesy of Google).

Here is a piece done by Marina Abramovic (courtesy of Google).

Marina puts an interesting thought into our minds about limits. What are limits? Who sets our limits? can our limits be entirely overcome? I like to think of limits as an external source. I believe that while yes, sometimes we force limits on ourselves, I don’t think the limit was completely created from our own imagination. Rather, I think that limits come from outside (other than ourselves) forces and can eventually evolve into something much larger. Limits placed by others can create a sort of doubt in our own selves and thus create a limit. It is not that we place limits, but more so they are placed upon us.

When discussing this very same issue with my fellow classmates, it seems that there is some disagreement on my point of view. Others thought that limits are strictly an internal thing, and that everyone controls their own limits. Basing my opinion off of prior experience, I can say I really disagree.

Overall, I think that Marina Abramovic had a very forward way of thinking. She was so confident in her work that to her, she was limitless. I can honestly say that is very difficult to ignore all external resources…so props to her! Her work is very moving.

A snapshot of the discussion of limits with Emilie, Li-Ren, Shamir, and Andrew.

A snapshot of the discussion of limits with Emilie, Li-Ren, Shamir, and Andrew.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

