AH Week 6

This week I had a lovely discussion with Sadie, Glenn, and partially Amanda. You can see their beautiful faces in the picture below:

Glenn is the large photo. Then Amanda, Sadie, and me! (From left to right.)

Glenn is the large photo. Then Amanda, Sadie, and me! (From left to right.)

With them, I discussed Romantic art, and Realism art, and even touched a bit on some of Monet’s early works. The class video had a painting of Monet’s that was too abstract for some at the time. Sadie and I both enjoyed the painting of a Sunset over the water. She mentioned that she thought it looked a lot like the reflection off of the water, rather than just the scenery a lone. I really liked that, because I felt like the painting didn’t have to be so literal. Looking at it, I couldn’t see a horizon that ships were resting on. What I could see was my OWN interpretation of the sunset. To me, that is much more beautiful for something like that.

When we discussed realism, we all pleasantly agreed on liking realistic artwork. The realism was a nice change because (surprise, surprise) it seemed more realistic. You can create a connection to a work of art much easier if you can quickly understand the emotion behind it. In the painting below, it is easy for us as an audience to recognize the struggle and hard work these men are going through. That emotion connection is a huge part of what art is all about!

The Stone Breakers by Gustave Courbet

The Stone Breakers by Gustave Courbet

Standard

Leave a Reply

